Home
Animal Paintings
Portraits
Illustrations
Miniatures
Awards
Biography
Publicity
Books
Contact
Books
 

MY FRIEND MAGGIE

August 9, 2016 (Dial Books for Young Readers)


A sweet and heart-tugging story about bullying, friendship, and fitting in, perfect for readers of Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon 
 
Paula and Maggie have been friends forever. Paula thinks Maggie is the best—until mean girl Veronica says otherwise. Suddenly, Paula starts to notice that Maggie is big and clumsy, and her clothes are sort of snuggish. Rather than sticking up for Maggie, Paula ignores her old friend and plays with Veronica instead. Luckily, when Veronica turns on Paula, Maggie’s true colors shine through.   
 
This moving friendship story has all the heart and emotion of The Giving Tree and Kevin Henkes's Chrysanthemum. The gorgeous artwork and important message make this a book to treasure. It’s truly a classic in the making.


Praise for My Friend Maggie:

* "Harrison tells her story with touching and expert restraint, and...shows a deeply sympathetic understanding of the simultaneously fragile and powerful emotions of children." — Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Harrison's straightforward, first-person text...conveys a wealth of emotion." — Kirkus Reviews

"The trials of friendship and the early vestiges of mean girl culture are well portrayed in this recommended purchase; perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing." — School Library Journal

 

Bernice Gets Carried Away

July 14, 2015 (Dial Books for Young Readers)

Perfect for a new generation of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day readers, this charming story about a grumpy cat gently shows how far a little sharing can go.
 
Bernice is having a truly rotten time at her friend’s birthday party. First, everyone else gets a piece of cake with a frosting rose. But not Bernice. Then, everyone else gets strawberry-melon soda. Bernice gets the prune-grapefruit juice. And it’s warm. The last straw is the one lousy (squished) candy she gets from the piñata. So when the balloons arrive, Bernice knows just what she has to do: grab them all. And then, poor cross Bernice gets carried up, up, and away. Luckily, she figures out just how to make her way back down to the party…and she brightens lots of other animals’ days on her way.

Praise for Bernice Gets Carried Away:

* "As she did in Extraordinary Jane, [Hannah Harrison] again cleverly juxtaposes an accomplished classical painting style with a contemporary sensibility, and her emotionally astute and elegantly understated story will strike a chord with any social animal." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The emotional honesty, simple, understated text, and entertaining visual humor combine to create an appealing take on a problem that occasionally plagues us all, whether child, adult, or grumpy cat." - Kirkus Reviews  

"A sweet new book by Hannah E. Harrison whose writing and illustrations are a gift to us all." - emisourian.com

“[Hannah E.] Harrison once again spins a magical tale . . . the explosion of smiles and bright colors will delight young readers.” - Chicago Tribune




 

EXTRAORDINARY JANE

February 2014 (Dial Books for Young Readers)

For anyone with a beloved pet, this delightful and heartwarming story set at the circus shows that quiet qualities like friendship, kindness, and loyalty are important and worthy.

Jane is an ordinary dog in an extraordinary circus. She isn't strong, graceful, or brave like her family. When she tries to be those things, Jane just doesn't feel like herself, but she also doesn't feel special. Is she really meant for this kind of life? Her Ringmaster thinks so, but not for the reasons Jane believes.

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Indie Bound, Dial Books

"A touching, delectably illustrated circus story that applauds the underdog."       --Kirkus, starred review

"This is an exceptionally polished first book. Harrison's acrylic paintings, which blend realistic animal portraits with a charmingly old-fashioned circus setting to very funny effect, are the star of the show, but her understated storytelling and pacing are equally on the mark."     --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Harrison's detailed and expressive illustrations give the circus animals plenty of personality and lend an air of grandeur to their talents."                                        --School Library Journal, starred review

 

 

Remy and Lulu

September 2014 (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

Ooh la la! From New York Times bestseller Kevin Hawkes, illustrator of Library Lion and Weslandia, comes the charming story of a dog and her owner who become the toast of Paris.
 

Lulu and her master, Remy, a passionate but struggling portrait painter, wander the French countryside looking for customers. They don’t need much business —just enough for some figs and cheese to keep their bellies full—but not many people seem to appreciate Remy’s abstract style.
 
Before long, Lulu secretly lends a paw to Remy’s work and—voilà!—the pair are the most celebrated artists on the salon circuit. If only Remy knew why . . .
 
With art from both beloved children’s book illustrator Kevin Hawkes and award-winning miniatures artist Hannah Harrison, this funny and heartwarming story about friendship and creativity shows that there are many ways to be good at the same thing . . . and that a true friend is always there for you.

 

JUST LIKE YOU

Piney Forest is home to many creatures, but Boris and Henry play and live by themselves, unwelcome by others because they don't walk or talk like everyone else, and sometimes they do things differently. When fire threatens the forest, Boris and Henry see past the bullying and rally to help in their own special ways. Just Like You is a story of acceptance, celebrating the differences and similarities in all of us.

Book Trailer 

 
Copyright © 2017 Hannah E. Harrison
Site Design: Cantrell Solutions
Admin